rednax20

Stripes | April 19, 2012

Drifting. Eyes closed to all events,
all promise unfulfilled since toast and marmalade
all Damoclesian threats parked in bays of morning,
all awaiting the thrill of daybreak
like the day, now eaten up, now slaked,
that promised with its own juice in turn, in turn.

The fall into darkness, into zero
No clock inside, no handle on time
as blank night seeps through thoughts and memories
flooding the soul with a shell of absence.

Aware of a presence, I awoke in dark,
saw a paper chain of men in white,
daggers in a hand of each,
advancing toward the foot of my bed!
In terror I raised my torso and reached
reached for the light-pull overhead
and the white light blanked the men… to nothing

Settling to sleep again,
leaving the light on to damn the terror
Aware of a presence, I woke in lightness,
a paper chain of men in black,
daggers in a hand of each,
advancing toward the foot of my bed!
In terror I raised my torso and reached
reached for the light-pull overhead
and the black night blanked the men… to nothing

Settling to sleep again,
leaving the light on to damn the terror
Aware of a presence, I woke in darkness,
paper chain of men in stripes,
daggers in a hand of each,
advancing toward the foot of my bed!
In terror I raised my torso and reached
reached for the light-pull overhead
and the white light flipped the white stripes
into black stripes as they advanced
and the light-pull flipped the black to white
and white to black as they advanced
black and white and white and black, as they advanced
Stripes,
stripes,
stripes,
stripes!

As I fell from the bed and awoke,
in sweat in the peaceful dark

And reached…

Leave a Comment »

Leave a Reply

