rednax20

Troubles | October 4, 2012

NB This was supposed to be about stars for National Poetry Day, but with help from Arthur, aged 4 and Madeleine, aged 6, it turned out a little different to my original intention. I did, however manage to get an astral reference in…

I went to the toilet but there wasn’t any toilet roll
I went to the toilet but there wasn’t any toilet roll
I went to the toilet but there wasn’t any toilet roll
So I had to get up to get a new one from the cupboard

The paper wouldn’t tear along the perforations
The paper wouldn’t tear along the perforations
The paper wouldn’t tear along the perforations
So I went and got a pair of scissors from the kitchen

The scissors were too stiff, they wouldn’t even cut the air
The scissors were too stiff, they wouldn’t even cut the air
The scissors were too stiff, they wouldn’t even cut the air
So I went to get an oilcan from the garden shed

It slipped from my fingers and fell into my underpants
It slipped from my fingers and fell into my underpants
It slipped from my fingers and fell into my underpants
And made a stain that looked like the Orion Nebula

A gust blew the door shut and I couldn’t get back in again
A gust blew the door shut and I couldn’t get back in again
A gust blew the door shut and I couldn’t get back in again
So I had to climb back in through the living room window, Mr. Magistrate.

Leave a Comment »

Leave a Reply

